The Biggest Fan: The Writer.


I am so pumped for NaNoWriMo. I’ve been waiting for this for nearly eleven months. One reason I am excited is because I am outlining a new trilogy. And I will be writing the first book in this trilogy this November. For those of you who have kept up with me on my NaNoWriMo profile, you will all ready know that this new book is called The Queen. (© Mary P. Johnston)

I am so psyched. I have been longing to tell this story for years. It is turning out to be more awesome than I thought it would. And that’s saying something.

But, as I’m outlining this new story and getting all excited over these new people and places… I’m starting to miss the Chronicles of Raa. (© Mary P. Johnston)

Don’t get me wrong, this new book is going to be epic and I already love it so much. Obviously, or I wouldn’t be writing it, now would I?

But… I miss writing about Katheryn and Cameron and about Raa, that strange but wonderful place…

I worked on that Trilogy for the past two NaNoWriMos, and I even wrote the second book for my first camp NaNoWriMo. Do you realize what that means? I was with those characters and that plot for a little over a year and a half, counting the outlining and editing stages.

I spent a year and a half of my life imagining every little detail of that story.

No wonder I miss it.

You know that bittersweet moment when you finish a book or a series and you are sad because you don’t want the story to be over?

Writer’s get that too, except it’s MUCH worse.

Why? Because we’re with them for so much longer than the readers are. The readers might be with them, depending on how fast they read, for like a week or two, maybe a little longer if it’s a series.

But writers, we’re with them for MONTHS. Sometimes YEARS.

We know the characters’ every little secret. Their wishes, their fears, their quirks and their backgrounds– we know all the things that aren’t in the books. Heck, we even know things that they don’t even know.

And we love them so much. That might be hard to believe, considering all the tortures we put them through, but it’s true– we love them more than any other characters in any other books.

We’re our books biggest fans.

So imagine how YOU feel when you finish reading a book…

And now try to imagine a writer when she finishes writing it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. secondchanced
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 08:35:25

    Wow, I’ve never thought of it that way! Hm. Good point though!
    This is actaully my first time doing NaNo…a scary feeling. xD How did you get past that first year? Was extremely difficult? How did you prepare for November?
    Btw, I love your blog! I found it through your Pinterest (I’m Mary Jane), so yeah—you just a got a new follower. ;)

    Like

    Reply

    • Mary P.J.
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 14:48:11

      This is your first year?! That’s awesome!! XD Are you on the NaNoWriMo website? (I’ll totally buddy request you if you are!! :D )
      And no, it’s not too difficult! It might seem like it… But as long as you write a little bit everyday, it’s totally achievable!
      How did I get past my first year? By trying to write everyday, staying loose (don’t get too caught up in getting everything perfect– this is a rough draft, you can fix all the mistakes and plot holes later!) and having as much fun as possible! (Word Wars, the Dare Machine, all-nighters– there’s a lot of fun to be had during NaNoWriMo if you see it as a fun-time instead of a job!)
      I like to outline my novel in preparation. You know, write down all the big scenes and ideas and fill out character questionnaires, et cetera. :D That way if I ever get stuck while I’m writing, I’ll have something to rejuvenate my creative juices!

      And thank you so much! I’m glad you like it! ^.^

      Like

      Reply

      • secondchanced
        Oct 09, 2013 @ 15:15:45

        Yep! I’m on the regular site and the Young Writer’s one…I’ll only be using the YW one though, because I’ll be much more comfortable setting my own goal this time around. I’m not sure yet what I’m capable of (I’ve only been writing for about 4 months), so I set it at a low (I think that’s low) 15,000 words. :P

        Oh yes, that’s some awesome advice! I shall try to stay loose like you said, and at the moment I am trying to outline. I’m having a bit of trouble though… Mine story is a simple murder mystery but I can’t figure out why the victim was murdered. And I’m not sure how to go about setting things up in the right order, or what they should be. Urgh :P So yeah. This is tough, but I WANT to do it. Once I get everything figured out, I think a lot of the stress will go away.

        Oh, and btw, my NaNo username is the same as my WordPress username: secondchanced. :)

        Like

        Reply

        • Mary P.J.
          Oct 10, 2013 @ 13:14:41

          Nice!! Yeah, the YWP is really fun. ^_^ I started using the other one this past year… But I keep the YWP close to my heart so I’ll be uploading on there too! I just buddy requested you!!! (I’m ArtsyMary on the YWP and crazy_dreamer on the original!)

          So you’re kind of new to the writing world, aren’t you then? Awesome! Have you completed any novels or short stories yet or will this be your first one? :D

          Oh yeah, murder mysteries are hard… I had an idea for one a few weeks ago and I was trying to figure it out… I had the mystery– who was murdered, who was blamed, why it happened, etc… but I couldn’t figure out how the Main Character would solve it! So yeah, I feel your pain… Mysteries are fun, but they can be a little tricky! I bet you’ll think of something, though!! :) I believe in you! And you know, sometimes reading books in the genre you’re writing in helps… You could read a bunch of Nancy Drew and Sherlock Holmes for inspiration! XD

          Like

          Reply

  2. From an ink smeared page
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 13:51:37

    All the best with your writing – sounds exciting!

    Like

    Reply

Speak Your Mind!

Follow The Dreamer's Pen on WordPress.com
