Pages and Pages


I’m sorry I don’t post very often.

It might seem like laziness or a lack things to say, but this is simply not the case.

I have plenty to say.

In fact, I think of many things all throughout my normal day that I could write about. But the sad truth is, even after I’ve carefully thought through my very long opinions and perfectly phrased everything I hope to express, I brush it off. I move on. I keep my opinion, of course, but I never bother to write it down.

Why?

Two reasons. One is the “lazy” reason.

It would take so long to write.

I do not mean, “Uuuuugh, I already have to write three paragraphs for school, I don’t want to write another WHOLE PARAGRAPH… I just don’t wanna…!”

No. No, no, no, no, NO. This is DEFINITELY not true for me.

What I mean is, I would not just take a few sentences, or even a few paragraphs, but I would take whole PAGES to tell you my opinion in a very detailed and thought-out way. And I would enjoy every minute of writing it, don’t get me wrong, but the problem comes when I’m done.

What’s the problem? Well, this is reason two.

Who would want to read pages and pages of my opinion?

When I’m brutally honest, absolutely no one.

You could be wondering, “Well why not just post a paragraph or two of your pages and pages of writing? Or why not simply shorten your opinions to a few paragraphs instead of a few pages?”

I don’t think you understand. I can’t just pick three of the best paragraphs and post them. That is like taking the best chapter of a book and expecting the reader to understand everything that came before and comes after without giving them any other information. It just doesn’t work that way.

And as for trying to minimize and summarize my writing…

I do.

These blog posts you occasionally receive? These are the ones I’ve managed to squish into a couple paragraphs; maybe one page…

This is why they are so few and so far in between. And it’s no one’s fault but mine. I just have problems trying to fit my thoughts inside the box.

I think out of it too often, I suppose.

But this, my friends, is why I am a novelist.

I have a nearly limitless amount of pages to tell avid readers anything I desire them to know. And not only that, but I can do it through the things I know best— fantasies, romances, adventures, tales of swash-buckling protagonists or fearless knights in shining armor.

Because these are the things I can say for sure that I know best. Reality is kind of hard to process now-a-days… but the simple truths in stories help us see through new eyes.

Even Jesus told parables to clarify, and, more than that, bring to life his teachings.

I am a writer. I was made to fill in hundreds of pages.

But, for the sake of my blog, and for you, my dear followers and friends, I will try to write a little smaller. :)

Speak Your Mind!

Follow The Dreamer's Pen on WordPress.com
