Would I stand?


We learned about Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednigo and the fiery furnace in Sunday School last Sunday. It’s a fantastic story about having faith and trusting God. It’s a really cool story… And it really caused me to think. I began thinking of what I would do if I was in their place. Would I stand? I really began to think about that. I imagined myself with Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednigo, and imagining what it would really be like to stand up for God like that. I imagined myself in a place like China, where the Bible is illegal. And that question kept popping up: Would I stand for Jesus? 

“Yes! Of course!” I thought. But still, the question kept nagging at me, and I began to doubt myself a little.
I was still thinking about it on Monday. We did our family bible reading like we usually do, but I honestly wasn’t listening too closely. I was thinking about the story of the fiery furnace. But then, suddenly, my mom read a really cool verse. I listened closely, and I realized as I replayed the verse in my mind, that no matter what, Jesus would always take care of me. And even if I died standing up for Him, I knew I would go to live with Him forever. And then, I decided. I prayed and told Jesus that no matter what I face in life, that I would always, always, stand up for Him. And I plan to keep my promise.

I am very grateful that we learned about Shadrach, Mesach, and Abednigo on Sunday. It helped remind me that my God is greater, stronger, and higher than any other. And that no matter what I do, no matter what I face, He will be with me. Thank you, God, thank you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma C.
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 16:57:34

    That is amazing! I would sometimes have that question in my mind and it would stay there for a while! Just reading this gave me confidence! Love you and God bless!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 16:24:47

    Hey, I just remembered the Scripture I was referring to! It’s Matthew 10: 17-20. You should look it up, it’s really amazing.

    Like

    Reply

Speak Your Mind!

Follow The Dreamer's Pen on WordPress.com
